Freelance Camp

Posted on February 11, 2009. Filed under: Business, Marketing, Social Media | Tags: , , , |

San Antonio recently played host to the Freelance Camp. It was my first experience of an unconference. For those of you not familiar with the concept here is how it works:

All the attendees are encouraged to be session leaders. A timetable is put somewhere accessible, each person that wants to lead a session puts their topic against a time and room slot. After about 5 mins you have yourself a schedule of sessions that people can attend.

I didn’t have a lot of faith in this as a concept when it was explained to me. My guess was no one would sign up to do anything and there would be a hundred people just sitting around chatting. Wow was I wrong. It was an extremely energetic day. I found myself leading two slots. The great thing about this is you act only as an enabler. The whole point of these sessions is that everyone in the session has something to share and that we can all learn from each other.

I came away very energized, very tired and full of lessons learned.  Big thanks go to Luis Sandoval and team for making it happen.

The two sessions I led were Big Tools for Small Business and Finding Time for Social Media. I hope you like the videos.

One of the tools that I talk about in the first session is Qipit.  Using that tool I was able to capture the notes from each session:

Big Tools for Small Business – View the notes here

Social Media Map – View the notes here

Without giving too much away, watch for one of these Camp’s coming to Austin soon!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Freelance Camp”

RSS Feed for the IncSlinger Comments RSS Feed

Thank you so much for the kudos, the team and I appreciate it, and we’re happy you had a good time. Unconference models are just amazing, and major cities around the globe are participating in the movement. The open air, fluid movement of the event provides a comfortable atmosphere for all to participate in.

Thanks a lot for your involvement, and if there’s ever anything I can do for you and your efforts, you have only to ask and I will do my best to oblige!

Luis
Thank you for the comment and again thanks for a great event. I’ll definitely be taking you up on your offer, its such a great model and will fit really well with the Austin culture.
Simon

you guys planning to run one in austin (for real)? If so, let me know and I might be able to help a bit.

Yes, now targeting June 20th but still trying to secure a venue so date is not fixed yet.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

